AAP MLAs have sought time to meet President Kovind: Manish Sisodia

Sunday, 21 Jan, 2018

BJP leaders said on Friday that the AAP-and-Kejriwal "phenomenon" was over and appeared assured that the national party would capture power in Delhi in the next Assembly elections in 2020.

"A constitutional body can not be used for political vendetta. Even if justice was denied us in the court, we will go to the people's court which is the biggest court", he said.

Ahmednagar (Maharashtra), Jan 20 (ANI): After the Election Commission recommended disquialification of 20 Aam Aadmi Party MLAs for holding "office of profit", party leader Kumar Vishwas stated that it is a very unfortunate incident. Senior EC OP Rawat, the next in line to be the CEC, recused himself from the case as the AAP chief had raised doubts about independence of his functioning as he had worked with Madhya Pradesh CM. The EC gave its opinion to the president on a complaint by advocate Prashant Patel, a member of the Hindu Legal Cell, in June 2015, who petitioned then President Pranab Mukherjee alleging illegality in the appointment of Parliamentary Secretaries.

Parliamentary Secretaries assist ministers with their work.

The Election Commissions lawyers said they could not confirm whether such a recommendation was made.

The BJP was quick to question if the AAP government had any "moral right" left after the EC's recommendation to the president. The decision led to calls by the Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) calling for Kejriwal's resignation.

"This move to disqualify MLAs comes just a year ahead of Lok Sabha polls and the Congress should understand that the Opposition should stand together".

Arvind Kejriwal's, Aam Admi Party has suffered a severe blow from the election commission, that could be another set for him as well.

Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari said the poll panel had allowed long adjournments to the MLAs during the hearings.

"We welcome the EC decision disqualifying 20 AAP MLAs".

While the AAP has approached the Delhi High Court against the EC recommendation, it still has a comfortable majority in the 70-seat Delhi Assembly, retaining 46 MLAs, 11 more than the 35 halfway mark. Although it had won 67 seats in the 2015 elections, four of its MLAs are now under suspension, and the Rajouri Garden seat went to the BJP in a by-poll. "We appeal to the President to hear our view too, MLAs will meet President also", Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia said on Saturday. "20 of his party's MLAs were enjoying ministerial perks will now be disqualified", he said.