Facebook Messenger now lets you unsend messages, but be quick!

Thursday, 07 Feb, 2019

This means if you accidentally (or drunkenly) send a regrettable message to someone, you can delete without them seeing it. "Starting today, we are launching a feature where you can easily remove your message on Messenger-whether it's to one person or a group".

The New York Times used one of Facebook's tactics to poke at the social network by sharing a nostalgic anniversary video spotlighting its stumbles.

You'll have to be quick - you've got just 10 minutes after the message has been sent to remove it.

The feature has been rolled out in the United States for iOS and Android, but when Junkee attempted to update their iOS Messenger this morning, no update was yet available. The app will then ask if you want to remove the message for everyone or just for you (the latter keeps the message visible to other participants, while hiding it from your view).

The initial move came seven months after it was reported that Facebook was deleting messages already sent by CEO Mark Zuckerberg to other users. With the new feature, you can quickly remove mistakes and save yourself from an embarrassing chat. However, at least for now, you'll have only a ten-minute window to reconsider before your text becomes a part of the permanent record.

Along the bottom of the screen will be a new Remove option; select it.

It's also worth noting the message will remain on Facebook's servers despite being deleted from Messenger.

- Open the Facebook Messenger app on your phone or desktop. Gizmodo attempted to test the feature on two updated iPhones, but it wasn't available for us yet. The company says it is working to better protect the security of its users. On Messenger's web app, you can remove messages by hovering over the button with three dots alongside your chat bubbles, and clicking on the "Remove" button to clear them.