Google is testing a dark theme Gmail for smartphones

Monday, 01 Jul, 2019

Google is now letting users delete data it collects from their devices, either location history or app data, automatically. Well, Google wants to reassure you that it isn't doing that and hand over the control of your location data to you.

The feature will enable automatic deletion of location history, activity data.

The new functionality adds the ability to "set and forget" your preferences to either delete data more than 3 months or 18 months old on a rolling basis. However, Google has built up a reputation for storing what people refer as a "creepy" amount of user data - including a map of everywhere you have ever been, a report by TechCrunch states.

The first option is called "share live trip" which allows users to share their live location with family and friends directly.

The Indian case is similar to one Google faced in Europe, where regulators imposed a $5 billion fine on the company for forcing manufacturers to pre-install its apps on Android devices. Here you will need to open your Google account page. Google first announced this tool in a blog post back in May, but now you can try it out for yourself and set a timer to delete sensitive information automatically.

Google makes most of its money from advertising.

Google has so far introduced the auto-delete functionality only for Location History and Web Activity data, though it will likely expand the feature to other types of data. The update will take time roll out completely to the Android Auto users. The review acknowledged that Chrome offers users many adjustable privacy settings, but, Fowler wrote, "its controls often feel like a shell game that results in us sharing more personal data".