Privacy concerns raised about viral ageing app FaceApp

Пятница, 19 Июл, 2019

FaceApp representatives have not responded to Schumer's letter but the company's CEO told the Washington Post that the app did not use the photos for any other objective.

It doesn't just alter how old people look, it can change their hair color or style, add a beard or mustache or tattoo, swap genders replace the background of your photo and literally put a smile on your face. The app was created by a Russian company based in St., Petersburg, Florida.

Users can also request the app wipe their information. Famous people are doing it, regular people having been doing it to photos of famous people, regular people have been doing it to themselves.

However, experts are warning that this free app poses multiple security concerns, according to the Independent.

Yes, but: The FaceApp makers told TechCrunch, "Even though the core R&D team is located in Russian Federation, the user data is not transferred to Russian Federation".

A USA senator, Chuck Schumer, has called for the FBI to investigate FaceApp over fears about "national security and privacy risks".

This week, FaceApp once again made headlines as celebrities, including the Jonas Brothers, Drake and Dwayne Wade, appeared to use the app to show what they might look like when they get much older. Users may be quick to download FaceApp and try out the old age filter without realizing what they are doing.

FaceApp has issued a statement clarifying that it only uploads photos to the cloud that users have selected, and that for those who don't want identifying information shared can bypass signing in.

FaceApp does not clearly inform its users that their photos are being uploaded and it doesn't mention what do they do with it. "We only upload a photo selected by a user for editing", he said, adding that they can not access any other photos in the phone. While FaceApp is all the rage right now you may be giving the company access to a lot more than you think. He also allayed fears, saying that most of the images in the company's servers are deleted within 48 hours from the upload date.

"Imagine now they used the phone's camera to secretly record a young gay person, that visits gay sites, but didn't yet go public with that, and they connect his face with the websites he is using", digital security expert Ariel Hochstadt told The Daily Mail.