No Kashmiri flag, constitution under Indian-imposed changes

Sunday, 03 Nov, 2019

In 1947, the former Jammu and Kashmir state had 14 districts - Kathua, Jammu, Udhampur, Reasi, Anantnag, Baramulla, Poonch, Mirpur, Muzaffarabad, Leh and Ladakh, Gilgit, Gilgit Wazarat, Chilhas and Tribal Territory.

"The matter of reorganisation of erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir into the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh is entirely an internal affair of India".

President Ram Nath Kovind issued two separate notifications on Thursday morning - the first revoking the President's rule in undivided Jammu & Kashmir and subsequently, taking over the control of the administration of the UT of Jammu & Kashmir, which will be controlled through the newly appointed Lieutenant-Governor GC Murmu. It borders the Xinjiang Province of China to the north, the northern areas of Pakistan-administered Kashmir to the south and west, and the Siachen Glacier region to the east.

Although RSS and BJP have achieved what they had aimed for, are Kashmiris happy with it?

Speaking next to a colossal statue of independence hero Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel in his home state of Gujarat, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday hailed a "bright future" for the blood-soaked Himalayan region.

"China deplores and firmly opposed that". Since the sixth or seventh century, Ladakh, to which Buddhism traveled from central India via Tibet, has been variably held by Tibet, India and China.

The temporary provision of the Indian constitution, he said, also created a "polarizing environment" that was exploited politically and during the past decades, thousands of people lost their lives due to terrorist attacks.

Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesperson Geng Shuang said Kashmir was a historical dispute which should be peacefully resolved.

Pakistani PM Khan's ex-wife claims Kashmir was "sold off" as "very weak" Khan did nothing Pakistani Prime Minister Imran Khan's ex-wife claimed that he knew beforehand about India's plans to abolish the autonomy of Kashmir and even tried to negotiate a "deal" with New Delhi. The move now means there are 28 states in India, with the state of Kashmir no longer in existence.

Government employees of the new union territories will start getting salaries and other benefits according to the recommendations of the seventh Pay Commission.

Modi says an end to an anti-India insurgency would boost tourism in Kashmir, known for its stunning mountain vistas, and encourage outside investment that would improve its economy.

New Dehli has blamed Islamabad for keeping the tensions in the region alive, allegations that the fellow nuclear-armed neighbour denies. Citizens from all across India have gained the right to own property - and to hold public office - in Kashmir. We had been taught since childhood that India has twenty eight states.